Painting for Process Not Product

Blue Bow, by Tiana, 2010

Blue Bow, watercolour and ink, 4"x6", Tiana 2010

It’s hard to distance oneself from our money driven society, from those unsaid rules that adults cannot play like we did when we were children, but must produce products that will pay our bills. I’ll admit that I have been stuck in this predicament. When your day gets clogged with chores who has time to play just for fun? Lately I have been trying to get back a little of that play time for myself, whether its dragon boating, digging in my garden, or improvising on the piano. For some reason my visual art is a little slower to return to a playful state. In my early 20s I was churning out all sorts of art experiments from collages on recipe cards, to drawing mazes, to making paper pulp and forming it into masks, to writing poetry out of random words cut from magazines. The last few years my art production has focused on examples for teaching, commissions, and a few pieces for shows. Since I don’t have a full time job now, I’ve got the time for fun, for experimentation.  But why, as an adult, is it so hard to let oneself play?

This painting of a boat in Steveston is a quick piece (4 to 5 hours) I did this week. Unfortunately I cannot report that it was done just for fun. There is a call for artists for Richmond’s Cultural Days and that’s what helped me get my paints out. However, it’s creation has spurred me into creative thoughts and hopefully into some fun creative production. Oh to be more carefree and create for the enjoyment of the process instead of always thinking of income potential.

Explore posts in the same categories: Fine Arts, Visual Art

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “Painting for Process Not Product”

  1. Vaclav Says:

    Nice work Tiana, I like the details and angle of view, amazing it took you only 4-5 hours!


Leave a Reply

