Watercolour Process

Watercolour in process of Light on Mountain

At the halfway point of a watercolour of sunlight on hills.

It has been said that my watercolours are just as interesting incomplete as they are when I decide they are finished. I eventually add so much detail that the final painting can be quite different from the work in progress. So here is my abstract landscape. Can it be a finished artwork? Does it hold your interest? Like reading a book instead of watching the movie, your imagination fills in missing areas, and each person’s interpretation is different. What is in the foreground? Is it grass? Bushes? What are the white areas? Snow? I am doing this watercolour as a commission, so I will add more detail to make it look like the photo I was given. However, stopping at the halfway point and considering the image as complete brings new creative possibilities. While creating my art, the process makes me see life better, clearer. Sometimes that process is more rewarding than the final product.

Explore posts in the same categories: Visual Art

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Watercolour Process”

  1. Benoist Says:

    Yes, it does hold my interest.

    I find your description of the work in progress and how it allows you to see life better, clearer, quite comparable to my own activities, when I draw a map, for instance. There is a sort of focus, an attention to details that is just part of the process. One step at a time, carefully considering shapes, and strokes, representation of the imaginary landscape, and aesthetics of the piece itself. Then, when I finally decide to take a break, I find myself more in tune with things around me. Like I’ve cleaned up my mind’s eye, so to speak.

    So yes. Not only does the piece hold my interest, but your description of the process that goes along with its composition also.

  2. tianakaczor Says:

    Thanks Ben for your insight into the creative process. It is a little like meditation in that one does feel clearer in the head afterwards. Also, if a creative person doesn’t take the time to practice their creativity then, as Lisa said to me yesterday, your head can get cluttered, and you know you are missing something and you need that release. Julie Cameron in The Artist’s Way also mentions this a lot; artistic people need to work through creative processes on a regular basis, or life becomes blocked.


Leave a Reply

