Vancouver Art Gallery visit – Ken Lum

Why go to the PNE when you can see fun house mirrors at the VAG? Today I visited the Vancouver Art Gallery to view their current show “The Colour of My Dreams – The Surrealist Revolution in Art”. However it was the solo show of Ken Lum’s work over the last 30 years that made a greater impression on me. Up on the second floor I stepped behind a wall into a maze of mirrors. Within a few feet I had to tell myself to heed the warning sign to “walk slowly” so I would not bump into a mirror. My walk was an exercise in brain control. I had to tell myself to keep calm. I had to concentrate on where I did not see a reflected image of myself so that I could walk in that direction. I believe good art should affect you in some way. This piece of Ken Lum’s deeply affected me. I don’t know if I have ever felt scared by a work of art before. It was a relief to see the exit. Yet, once out, I wanted to go back in and experience it again.

You can see a review of “Mirror Maze with 12 Signs of Depression” in The Vancouver Sun.   http://communities.canada.com/vancouversun/blogs/cultureseen/archive/2011/02/09/ken-lum-fracturing-the-self-in-mirror-maze.aspx     You have until September 25th to walk through the maze yourself.

Explore posts in the same categories: Visual Art

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “Vancouver Art Gallery visit – Ken Lum”

  1. Vaclav Tomek Says:

    Hi Tiana,

    That must have been great, the mirror arrangement must have been perfect!


Leave a Reply

