Terracotta Warrior Painting Process

Tiana Paints "Wu Chang's" Head

Tiana Paints "Wu Chang's" Head

I’m in the home stretch, but probably have a good week more of painting until my warrior, Wu Chang, is finished. Like the eagle I did with James Whiteside Elementary a couple years ago this sculpture is also going to be very colourful and detailed. Why do I do this to myself? Such a lot of work. But so far those that have taken a sneak peak in my studio have raved about my collage of patterns on Wu. It’s like he has travelled through time to show us a collection of designs from over 2000 years of Chinese history.

Explore posts in the same categories: Visual Art

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

6 Comments on “Terracotta Warrior Painting Process”

  1. susangeckle Says:

    Beautiful! Your hard work has paid off.

  2. Heather Says:

    Wow! He’s looking good!!!

  3. Shannon Says:

    YAY Princess Ti! You are a goddess of art!

  4. Caroline Says:

    I can’t wait to come out and see Wu Chang. He looks amazing in the photos.


  5. for several years the 3′ terra cotta general i purchased in xian has sat next to my desk, seemingly destined to remain flat grey. then i saw the nat. geog. piece. can you suggest which paints to use to bring him to life? kepeller@hotmail.com

    • tianakaczor Says:

      Kenneth – The warrior I painted was made of fibreglass. I did 2 coats of acrylic gesso for a base and then used an artist quality acrylic paint. I don’t know what your sculpture is made of and therefore don’t know what paint will be best to adhere to its surface. Acrylic will work on a lot of different surfaces from wood to canvas. You might want to ask someone at a local art supply store.


Leave a Reply

