Edinburgh’s Mysterious Paper Sculptures

Edinburgh book sculpture Tea

Edinburgh book sculpture Tea

An artist friend sent me a link today to some mystery art that has been popping up in Edinburgh’s literary environments. Fabulously detailed sculptures made from books and placed in libraries by the anonymous creator have everyone wondering “Who is this artist, and why do they leave such gifts?”

To look at an article about the book sculptures go here: http://thisiscentralstation.com/featured/mysterious-paper-sculptures/   It’s long, but read all the way to the bottom to learn about the whole mystery.

In a world that has become more about making money than creating experiences and joys for each other, this is a wonderful present the artist has given the people of Edinburgh and those of us who can view the sculptures from afar. I too have left little treasures, mostly along forest paths, wondering who will find them. This artist is lucky in that she, (for they think it’s a she from one clue in a note), has the opportunity to see all the press her creations have initiated. As much as I enjoy making art, I also love seeing the reactions of people as they look at it. This week I have sat or walked by my painted terracotta warrior outside the Richmond Art Centre. It’s been fun seeing people look at him and take pictures. Sometimes I talk to them, telling them I’m the artist, sometimes I don’t.

Rankin admirer paper sculpture Filmhouse

Rankin admirer paper sculpture Filmhouse

The detail in the book sculptures is amazing. The collage aspect, with all the words from the book pages reminds me of some work I did while at Emily Carr College of Art & Design. Stories, made from words cut out of magazines and glued onto scales from pine cones and then placed in wooden cigar boxes. Ah, to create! I think I need to go to my studio!

Explore posts in the same categories: Fine Arts

Tags: , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

