Beware of Email Art Scams

Last month I thought I had a buyer for 2 of my art pieces, but with a little hunting over the internet I have discovered this email art inquiry is a scam. Here are some clues to help you discover if your buyer is a scam artist.

The Canadian Anti-Fraud Centre says to beware of buyers who are from overseas, are renting, (mine said they were moving), and ask you to send funds to a third party shipping company. Also beware of requests to send funds through money services like Western Union or MoneyGram. If the buyer sends more money than the selling price, and then asks for a return of the excess funds, this is probably a scam.  When I stated that I would only accept cash or an interact email transfer I suddenly never heard from the buyer again and this is what alerted me that something was fishy.

Kathleen McMahon has some great info on how to detect a scam. Go here:  http://www.kathleenmcmahon.com/info/scammer-names.html

She has also started up a blog called Stop Art Scams  http://stopartscams.blogspot.ca/

I thank her for organizing this info as I was able to find almost exactly the same emails that were sent to me in ones that were sent to other artists.

We all want to sell our art and feel the excitment when someone likes one of our art pieces enough to buy it. It is unfortunate that we have to be extra careful in our online transactions due to some bad apples out there. Let me know if you’ve experienced anything like a scam, and pass the word around to anyone who sells stuff online.

Explore posts in the same categories: Fine Arts

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “Beware of Email Art Scams”

  1. Vaclav Says:

    Good job detecting the scam in time.


Leave a Reply

